Santa Barbara Dining – Part 1

As some of my readers may know, I was in Santa Barbara for 2 months. I’m back in Bloomington IN now, but I think it’s time I caught up on updating my blog. So I’ll start with all the delicious food I’ve eaten while in California!

While the title of the blog post series says “Santa Barbara Dining”, some of the meals weren’t in Santa Barbara. Sometimes we ate in Montecito, Carpinteria, LA, etc, but the music academy I was attending was based in Santa Barbara, so there.

LA Korean Food
My friends and I all decided one day to drive down to LA to sate our cravings for Korean food. There was this one restaurant in the Korean-town area called Myung Dong Kyoja (명동교자), which was apparently the best Korean place in the area, so it was there that we went to eat. We ordered a bunch of things (after all, there were 8 of us there that evening); galbi (갈비), bibimbap (비빔밥), dumplings or mandu (만두), and noodles called mul-nengmyun (물냉면). The food was very cheap and the restaurant was very clean, though the service was more methodical than friendl. Not that it mattered much though. We were too busy scarfing down our meals. Everything was delicious, though the galbi was definitely my favourite.

Fish Hopper at Monterey Bay
Our next wonderful meal was in the Monterey Bay area. After a long day at the amazing Monterey Bay Aquarium, a hungry group of college students decided to look on their iPhones for restaurants, and upon finding the “Fish Hopper”, booked a reservation. It was a good thing we made reservations though, because when we got there, the place was packed! No wonder; although the food was really pricey, it was well worth it with the view from our table…

Yep, that was the view from our table! Quite literally, the window was right next to us. Don’t believe me? Here, let me show you…

Tada! And please ignore the little stars; I’m not sure if my friends would like their pictures being all over the web. Gotta respect their privacy, you know.

We started off with an appetizer of half-dozen oysters. Very fresh, and delicious, though obviously my photography skills do them no justice. I can’t believe I was focusing the lens on the lemon in front instead of the actual oysters. Oops.

I decided to go all-out, and ordered the most expensive thing on the menu…THE ULTIMATE SEAFOOD PASTA. $34.95 worth of “lobster meat, scallops, prawns, crab meat…everything sauteed in an Asiago Cheese Cream Sauce, and served over Fresh Spinach Fettuccine Pasta.” Quoted from the menu. And the plate was huge too, although it doesn’t look that big in the photo (just trust me, ok?). Unfortunately, maybe my expectations were too high for the meal; I wasn’t COMPLETELY satisfied with the taste. But it wasn’t bad. It just wasn’t an orgasmic culinary experience like I thought it would be. But then again, the view and the oysters made up for it; we could see sea-lions lounging on rocks in the ocean just metres away from where we sat!

And that’s all for now. Stay tuned for more Santa Barbara Dining! 🙂

Signing off,
Marie

Leave a Reply

