Aglio e Olio – Virgin Cooking

Aglio e olio is one of my favourite pasta dishes out there. It’s super simple and requires very few ingredients, but it’s chock full of taste, so I figured, why not try and make it myself?

First time cooking spaghetti aglio, olio e peperoncino! (Hence the Virgin Cooking in the title) I used this recipe from Food.com, though being lazy as I am, I didn’t follow all the directions (or more like any of the directions); I made up my own measurements and just used the recipe as a base for whatever it was that I did. Also, this was a Sunday evening and my fridge was down to the bare essentials, so I didn’t have some of the ingredients. Ergo, I substituted and did without some of the stuff. Anyway…

Here is my version of the recipe! Enjoy 🙂

Things you’ll need:

  • spaghetti
  • salt
  • black pepper
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • garlic
  • dried red pepper flakes
  • grated Parmesan cheese
  • tomatoes
  1. Boil some water, add a little bit of olive oil and salt, and cook the pasta.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, chop up about 4~5 cloves of garlic and mince them finely.
  3. In a skillet, heat up some olive oil and toss in the garlic, salt, black pepper, and red pepper flakes.
  4. Drain the pasta once it’s done cooking, and toss the skillet mixture from step 3 in a pot (or large bowl) with the pasta.
  5. Cut up some tomatoes, and add them to the pot/bowl.
  6. Mix vigorously! If needed, add a little bit more olive oil.
  7. Serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

And here it is…

Tada! However, as with all first time’s, there were a couple of things I wish could have been improved…

  1. Thinner pasta: Maybe I’ll try with angel hair pasta next time?
  2. Not enough…zing: Needs lemon juice. But I didn’t have lemons, so boo.
  3. Basil decoration: All pastas need this. Unfortunately, I don’t have any fresh basil and my potted basil isn’t completely matured yet.

BASIL, Y U NO GROW???

Anyway, it was still a pretty decent first try, so I’m definitely looking forward to trying this recipe again 🙂

Signing off,
Marie

One thought on “Aglio e Olio – Virgin Cooking

Leave a Reply

