The New Year and Norovirus

It’s 2013 everybody! Here in Seoul, it’s already the second day of the new year, so I’ve already had my New Year celebrations. As per usual Korean custom, it was a family affair. My two uncles on my dad’s side (so my dad’s brothers) were there, as were their wives and their children (my cousins, all older than me). One of my cousins, who is getting married in March, brought along her husband-to-be as well, so it was a crowded lunch. We had 떡국 (ttuk-gook), which is the traditional dish eaten on New Years, and eating it symbolizes gaining one more year in age. So now in Korean age I am 22, although in every other country I’m 20.

Unfortunately I also seem to have contracted the Norovirus while on my travels. The night of the 1st, I was overcome with spasms of vomiting and diarrhea-ing and writhing in pain, so I didn’t get a lot of sleep. Neither did my poor mother. This morning though, we went to the doctor (where he confirmed my hypothesis of Norovirus), and I was prescribed with an IV drip and the whole shabang. Feeling a lot better, but I’ll definitely still be taking it super easy for the next couple of days.

Stay healthy everybody!

Signing off,
Marie

One thought on “The New Year and Norovirus

  1. 2014!…and the Christmas Season – Marie's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

