Pumpkin Carving and Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

So for those of you who have read my last post, you would have known that I went to a pumpkin patch for the first time in my life. Yay! And that this post would be about my first time carving a pumpkin, and my first time roasting seeds.

IMG_1233

The only real “instructions” I had were those that came with my cheap-ass plastic pumpkin carving set. Basically it told me to 1) carve out a hole in the bottom, 2) scrape everything out, and 3) pray to God your carving looks at least remotely like what the template looks like. Having never carved a pumpkin before, I was not prepared for how messy the insides would be…

IMG_1235

This is me pre-scooping, thinking to myself, how bad could this be?

IMG_1237

OH GOD IT’S EVERYWHERE AND OH MY GOD WHY IS THERE SO MUCH OF IT WHY WON’T IT END AHHH IT’S ALL OVER MEEEEE D:

This was also the first time I tasted raw pumpkin. Eugh. Never again. I think I’ll stick to the pumpkin pies and the pumpkin cookies for now…and forever.

IMG_1238

So this was the pattern that I had from the cheap-ass kit. And then here is…

IMG_1239

My pumpkin! I’m thinking maybe I should have actually washed the front of the pumpkin off and gotten rid of all the grime and dirt, but I didn’t think that far ahead before I started cutting into it. Oops.

And because I am a dummy, I forgot to take pictures of the pumpkin with a light inside! I left it for a week over at the boyfriend’s place (because I wasn’t sure if my roommate would be alright with a giant carved pumpkin on our balcony), and by the time I had gotten back with my cheap $1 dollar electric candle, it had rotted, and smelt horrible. NOTE TO SELF. PUMPKINS ROT FAST.

IMG_1242

Thankfully, my attempt at roasting the pumpkin seeds went a little better. I first had to go through all the pumpkin guts that I had kept in a plastic bag, and then I had to rinse and clean off all the seeds. I found that the best way to do this was with a scrubbing motion under hot water, since the innards are so…”stringy”.

IMG_1275

After patting the seeds dry, I mixed them up with some melted butter, and roasted them on a low heat in the oven for about 2 hours. I checked it about once every 20 minutes, and by the time 2 hours had gone by, they were a nice delicious crispy golden colour. I think you can add some other spices and stuff to it as well, such as cayenne peppers and sea salt, but I was in a hurry as well as lazy. Butter does the job, but it could have been tastier.

How are your Halloween/Thanksgiving preparations going? Hopefully I will be able to think up some more festive things to do. I will be spending my Thanksgiving with the boyfriend’s family, and they live in the middle of nowhere, so expect a lot of cornfield pictures and such.

Signing off,
Marie

Leave a Reply

