Paarthurnax Goes to the Vet!

Today, I finally got to take my pet tortoise Paarthurnax to the vet for the first time since getting him back in December!

1925179_10151954870236186_1202004242_n

He was very confused as to where we were at first, but it didn’t take very long for him to get comfortable enough to start pooping everywhere…which was a good thing, because I had forgotten to collect a stool sample for his fecal exam. D’oh!

We got some measurements, and the vet checked him out as being one of the best-cared-for tortoises that she had seen so far. Yay! But at the same time, that made me a little sad because then I thought of all the poor tortoises out there with owners who have no idea what they are doing. I am lucky in that my significant other is a veterinary technician, so I have a lot of guidance on how to take care of an “exotic” correctly.

Behold, my marvelous drawing skills for the measurements:

tortoise measurements

Paarthurnax measured a healthy:
12cm from the top tip of the plastron to the bottom tip of his shell,
26cm around the widest part,
and 364 grams!

He did have a case of worms (most likely from the pet store), but that is easily taken care of with oral medication. He hates it though, so I have to be all sneaky-like and basically fill the hollow bits of his favourite Romaine lettuce with it, hehe.

Time to go give him a bath!

Signing off,
Marie

Leave a Reply

