Herbed Stuffed Chicken Breasts

This weekend, I was feeling all sorts of fancy (don’t you just love it when that happens?), so I decided to make a super fancy dinner for me and my boyfriend.

Unfortunately, my boyfriend is allergic to garlic AND onions, two of my most favourite ingredients to cook with. But Marie, you ask. How can you even make anything delicious without garlic or onions?!? Well. That’s when I consult my good friend Google!

We found a super nice recipe for Herbed Stuffed Chicken Breasts (courtesy of myrecipes.com) that only had six ingredients! (I don’t count cooking spray as an ingredient, sorry 😀 )

20140320_212019

The ingredients (as you can check out on the link provided above) themselves aren’t very special. However, I’ve never actually cooked anything with goat cheese or Canadian bacon (ham?) before, so that was interesting. Both my boyfriend and I were pleasantly surprised with how good the goat cheese was (contrary to our expectations, I guess).

20140320_214020

I’ve never made “pockets” in any kind of meat before either, so that was another new thing. And something that I definitely need more practice in. I ended up cutting through most of the chicken breasts, and while the whole thing held together relatively well, it kind of ruined the presentation a little bit for me. 😦

20140320_215957

Post-frying, pre-baking! I had gotten this new fancy cooking parchment paper, from PARIS. They come out pre-cut, though I obviously didn’t know that and proceeded to rip it very clumsily. It was only when I had to get another sheet that I realized my mistake. D’oh. But seriously. It’s so convenient! Once you go pre-cut, you’ll never go back. 😀

20140320_223824

And tada! The finished product! We had our chicken with a side of broccoli cheese rice. Maybe next time we will try pairing it with some roasted asparagus.

This is definitely a recipe that I will try again (and hopefully keep improving at!). Lots of new things I learned from cooking this, and it was SUPER delicious. Cost-wise, it was a little bit on the pricey side, but that was mostly due to the goat cheese.

What other garlic-free, onion-free recipes do you love cooking? Leave a comment below!

Signing off,
Marie

Leave a Reply

