Tablet Weaving

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you will know that my boyfriend and I are avid historical reenactors, especially of the 8th century Viking kind.

10685400_10152511354246186_8548117432442854968_n

Recently, I’ve gotten into the craft of tablet weaving, also known as card weaving. A type of weaving that’s been around since the BC ages, table weaving was one of the most common ways that Vikings would make trim and belts.

14.09.26.01 - Tablet Woven Belt

I haven’t been doing this for too long, so I’ve only just started experimenting with different fibers, different thicknesses, and such. But it’s a really relaxing sort of thing, if you’re into repetitive motions.

14.12.16 - Missing Hole Trim

For me, the hardest part is figuring out a pattern on my own. While there are plenty of patterns out on the internet for me to follow and recreate, I want to be able to eventually look at a piece of weaving, and make exactly the same thing.

14.12.16 - Some Trim

Tablet weaving is probably something I will continue to keep doing. So hopefully there will be more posts in the future regarding this! 🙂

Signing off,
Marie

Leave a Reply

