Amigurumi Craze!

Amigurumi! For those of you guys who don’t know what it is, it’s basically crocheting little anthropomorphic animals/objects out of yarn. The term comes from the Japanese words ami meaning crocheted/knitted, and nuigurumi meaning stuffed doll. I actually haven’t done any amigurumi ever, but one of my distant aunts had sent me a crocheted doll years ago that I still have in the shelf above my bed.

Anyway, I’m in love with amigurumi, though I’m not sure if I’ll be working on anything quite that complicated and large any time soon. There are a couple of projects I’m dying to try out though…

This adorable crocheted cat is a pattern I found on thegreendragonfly’s blog (here is the link for the tutorial). Definitely high on my to-do list, it’s got everything I love. Colours, crochet, and cats! Cats cats cats.

This pattern I found on a Swedish site (link is here). Unfortunately the whole instruction thing is in Swedish, but nothing that Google Translate can’t help with. Right? Or else I might have to find somebody fluent (or at least competent) to translate for me.

The next pattern is crocheted teru teru bozus! (link here) Teru teru bozus are Japanese traditional dolls that are typically made of paper or tissue. People would hang these things from the windows as a sort of lucky charm to ward off rain. I remember making these as a child (though I’m not Japanese, my grandmother who was a fan of all things Japanese taught us several Japanese traditions), and having a more permanent version of them would be nice. Also, you only really need one colour of yarn and it doesn’t seem too difficult.

Have any of you guys tried amigurumi before? I’m really excited to start (eventually). I’m actually working on a little project at the moment (I’ll let you guys in on that soon) but as soon as I’m done with that, onto amigurumi it’ll be!

Signing off,
Marie

2 thoughts on “Amigurumi Craze!

  1. First Amigurumi! – Brain Slugs – Marie's Kitchen

Leave a comment